Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

LCA's and bushings, Oh My.....

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-05, 06:12 PM
tjj13401
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LCA's and bushings, Oh My.....

O.K....

I am now in possession of a pair of Supra front LCA's, 4 bushings for the front UCA, and 2 steering bushings ("bushes"), courtesy of A. Vlamos from Down Under. Now for a couple questions on a subject that has ( I know ) already been beaten to death:

1. How many Labor hours should it take a qualified mechanic to install all of the above?

2. Rear LCA's: Do they have a ball joint too? Does this mean that at 130,000 miles I should replace them as well?

3. Supra's don't fit, do they?

4. If the rear LCA's have a ball joint, how do I know if it's bad?

Dammit Jim. I'm a paramedic, not a mechanic....

TJ
Old 07-04-05, 07:51 PM
abdul10000
Driver

Originally Posted by tjj13401
O.K....

I am now in possession of a pair of Supra front LCA's, 4 bushings for the front UCA, and 2 steering bushings ("bushes"), courtesy of A. Vlamos from Down Under. Now for a couple questions on a subject that has ( I know ) already been beaten to death:

1. How many Labor hours should it take a qualified mechanic to install all of the above?

2. Rear LCA's: Do they have a ball joint too? Does this mean that at 130,000 miles I should replace them as well?

3. Supra's don't fit, do they?

4. If the rear LCA's have a ball joint, how do I know if it's bad?

Dammit Jim. I'm a paramedic, not a mechanic....

TJ

I think you will find those questions answered in my reply in the other thread. As for question 4, if you have the joint separated you usually want to test it by twisting it and checking to see if there is any unusual resistance and bumps while your moving the joint.
Old 07-05-05, 05:55 PM
SCV8
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post