Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

AWD, dropped, and going through tires like CRAZY!

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-09, 01:09 PM
solo_stage
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default AWD, dropped, and going through tires like CRAZY!

Hey guys!

okay so i drive a 07 Is250 awd and I dropped my car on tanabe DF210 springs.

My car is insanely low for springs, i know, possibly due to my shocks being blown as well.

Anyways, thats beside the point. The point is I am rolling on 19" wheels and had a brand new set of tires put on my car back in April. In September, my rear tire blew and I had to replace two tires. Just yesterday my tires blew again.

Is anyone else experiencing CRAZY tire wear on the inside wall of their tires? Because I'm not even getting 5000 miles on these tires!! I know its due to the bad camber in the rear, but I'm thinking this is a little too much for me!

I'm also a pretty careful driver, avoid speedbumps, doesn't speed and what not.. HELP!!!!
Old 01-11-09, 01:22 PM
GrandSedanFan
Instructor

Received 219 Likes on 153 Posts

Inside wall, as in sidewall, not tread? You're rubbing the inner fender well. Take your back rims off and check for rub marks in the wheel well. Take pictures. Your camber/alignment might be way out because of the drop, or your rims might be the wrong offset.
Old 01-11-09, 01:26 PM
GSE25
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi stranger I'm guessing you need an alignment. From what I've read, usually improper toe settings will affect tire wear more than camber. I'm not having these issues and I'm on the same setup as you (DF, 19s). What tires are you using? Wheel specs? etc, those might play a role too.
Old 01-11-09, 01:46 PM
solo_stage
Lead Lap

haha dude joe, i get an alignment once a month! it hasnt been helping when my tire explodes, the inside wall of my wheel rips off the wheel... haha the toe is fine according to my last assignment, its just the rear camber thats not okay.