Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Race brakes lots of questions???

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-09, 12:51 PM
drewdizzle
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Race brakes lots of questions???

well I have been working on car hard core for the last 4 months. I have a 1992 sc300. So far I have done the following:

1jz swap
r154 trans
kaaz 2 way
pbm coilovers
ss brake lines
hawp hp pads (over 1 year old)
falken azenis rt615 tires

took it to autocross and it felt great but I am going to a road race event at buttonwillow and am a little concerned with my brakes. I don't have a big budget right now so I can't do a bbk. although i would love some stoptechs.

Also, I do have brake calipers and rotors off a jdm soarer which are a bit bigger than the sc300's.

also, This is not my daily I have 2 cars, but I would like to still drive it on the street. but I may be cool with installing pads at track then taking them off.

Questions:

1) are the soarer brakes the same as a sc400? (i think they are)
2) what kind of pads should i get?
3) what kind of rotors should i get?
4) anyone know a good site online to purchase?

thanks for the help
Old 03-06-09, 12:57 PM
Kaydee
Hacked CL to become a Mod

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

save up for some LS I say...they're roughly about 300-400 for a front set (TTs are a tad more expensive), and beats any combination of pads and/or rotors for a soarer any day
Old 03-06-09, 01:14 PM
drewdizzle
Pole Position

Default LS400 pads

ya i have been thinking of that. what would be a good pad to go on that? I don't know who makes racing pads for those brakes.
Old 03-06-09, 03:47 PM
GSteg
Rookie

Received 79 Likes on 61 Posts

Carbotech makes pads for ls400s
Old 03-06-09, 03:55 PM
HellFish
Lexus Test Driver