Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Accessing bumpstops easily ?

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-09, 11:53 AM
mdgrwl
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Accessing bumpstops easily ?

Can the bumpstops be accessed easily by raising the car? I'm not too technical... can they be acccessed through the dustcap? Will the dust cap raise enough?
Old 03-13-09, 11:58 AM
Gator Alum
Driver

You won't be able to get to the bumpstop easily unless you either cut the dust cap or remove the shock/spring assembly.
Old 03-13-09, 12:18 PM
mdgrwl
Lexus Champion

well thats not good news... here's the deal, my tech cut my bumpstops when I had F-Sport springs, but recently I went with H&R Springs, and they say to not cut the bumpstops, so he put the cut portion back on. Now the ride on H&R's is super hard, feeling like I'm riding on the stops... I was hoping to have him easily access the cut portion and cut it out... guess this isn't going to be an easy project, huh?
Old 03-13-09, 12:25 PM
Gator Alum
Driver

Well, you're not supposed to cut bump stops for F-Sport springs to begin with. The bump stops are only if you car bottoms out the strut. For everyday riding, it shouldn't have an effect. I don't know how you could be riding on the stops unless your shocks are blown, or the H&R springs are just that low. I doubt it will be an easy project. I mean, if he has a lift and takes the wheel off he MAY be able to get in there with a small file or something and saw through it to pull it off, but it probably won't be much fun.
Old 03-13-09, 12:39 PM
mdgrwl
Lexus Champion

I'm 90% sure its the stops thats causing the ride to be hard. I asked him to cut the stops for the F-Sports because I didn't know any better to be honest. I saw a DIY spring thread here and the guy cut his, so I asked him to cut mine... honestly, prolly the best thing I could of done.