Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Coils Help

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-09, 09:54 AM
tmaung
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coils Help

First of all, I have no background on suspension. I have a general idea of how it works but don't know all the mechanical components involved. What I really want to do is to lower my car without sacrificing the comfort. I have read for hours on H&R and tein springs threads and I think I am moving towards coils.

I am looking at megan, teins, tanabe, bc racing, and d2. For the price, which one should I go with? I like to drive fast around the corners but also have bumps in my neighborhood so I want some improvement on handling but doesn't want to sacrifice much on comfort.

Also, if I decide to go with the tanabe and later wanted TEAS, is it possible to hook it up without taking off the coils? Since I won't be installing it myself, I don't want to pay the shop everytime I make a change. And if I get a system like TEAS, when do I get an alignment done?

Does TEAS only change the stiffness or does it also change the ride height? If I do not get TEAS and I want to change stiffness/ride height, do I have to take out the coils again? Sorry for those noob questions but I just want to get things done right.

Soon after the coils, I plan on changing my wheels to 19" probably so what changes do it need to the coils? Or should I get wheels first then the coils?

Thanks in advance!
Old 03-27-09, 10:58 AM
AM1
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post