Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Lost of power during accelaration?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-09, 11:56 AM
skyhawk23
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lost of power during accelaration?

Hello All,

Newbie here, I don't post much but do a lot of reading. I have a problem here recently I don't know what to look for. So I am asking for help. I have the front timing cover gasket replace here not to long ago due to oil leak from the seal behind the timing cover, and the mech told me to go ahead and replace the timing belt , belt tensioner and water pump and all that goes with it, So I did just that, and when the car was put back together, it shrudder and at last it idle up fine but with a check engine light on, But the Check engine light did reset later on. Didn't come back on again. but when push hard on the accelerator, it don't have the power, it shakes, and shrudder. But no check engine light comes on. I spoke to the mech he told me that maybe the spark plug cable needs to be replace? But the car was running fine before the oil leak. So I am kind of confuse that the spark plug cable will go bad just sitting in the drive way. But I went ahead and change a set of spark plug wires from Advance auto. But the problem is still there, and it gets worst when the air comes on. it just don't idle right or run right. But when I take it out to the freeway and gun it a bit it seem to be O.K. but still don't have the peep as before. The car feel like it don't want to go at all. Sitting at traffice it still idel fine but hit the gas it don't have the peep, like the car filter is block or something..in the old days I would have look at the timing, it almost feel like the timing was delay. also the gas mileage is really bad. So I spoke to another mech he told me that the Spark wire could still be bad, the after market wires don't work as good and they will cause problems. So I guess I really don't know wha