Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Worn Front Rotors

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-10, 07:06 PM
kkohorst
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Worn Front Rotors

At around 35k miles, my front rotors wore down so I had a 1/4 lip around the edge of my rotors. My pads were also worn down. Has anyone experienced this? My rear brakes were fine.

I don't track my car or drive hard. Any ideas?
Old 07-30-10, 10:03 PM
CleverName
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm new to Lexus, so I'm not the best source of info for you on what is "normal" for this car, but 35k is a little premature compared to what I have seen on other cars like my Audi or Mitsubishi's, but only by a little. I could easily attribute it to constant city traffic, riding your brakes, or if only one side is worn, your calipers may not be floating freely from dirt and such.
Regardless, its time to get new rotors and pads and if the latter is the problem the tech should spot it....

BOL
Vince
Old 07-31-10, 09:03 AM
tw88
Rookie

I wouldn't be surprised. My front pads were done at just 20k miles (vs my M3 which at 32k mi still has half of the pad life left). So assuming 1 rotor change for every 2 pad changes, you're just about there.
Old 07-31-10, 10:37 AM
CleverName
Pole Position

Originally Posted by tw88
I wouldn't be surprised. My front pads were done at just 20k miles (vs my M3 which at 32k mi still has half of the pad life left). So assuming 1 rotor change for every 2 pad changes, you're just about there.
Another reason I favor cryogenic treated rotors... you'll go through nothing but pads after that!

Vince
Old 07-31-10, 06:20 PM
Bigrahizzl
Lexus Champion

im at 40,600 and they told me that rotors and pads are worn out while i was getting an oil change. Too bad its gonna cost me an arm and leg to replace both the front ones.
Old 07-31-10, 08:54 PM
CleverName
Pole Position

Originally Posted by Bigrahizzl