Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

GS430/L Tuned Question

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-02, 09:24 PM
NitroShredder
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GS430/L Tuned Question

Hey guys, I'm new. I am in the market for a new sport sedan. Let's just say my current ride is from Germany and I am looking at the GS430 and also the 540iA. The Bimmer is basically out of the running since the wife said so (bad prior experience with reliability and dealer stuff). Anyways.. I digress.

I am new to this Lexus market and what not and am preparing to make an informed decision. I would appreciate as much feedback as possible.

FYI: I am looking at getting the 2002 GS430 with 17's, ML/NAV, rear spoiler,wood/leather steering, heated front seats.

* I have driven my 528i for about 3 years now (bought new) and enjoy it. I have given the 430 a QUICK drive.. and tomorrow I hope to have an "extended" test drive with the dealer/salesguy. I have noticed it feeling "isolated" from the road. Does this affect it's ability or the drivers ability to make the car grip in high speed turns? I occassionally follow a friend thru the hill country in his 911 at insane speeds.. I can't keep up.. but taking turns at 100+ MPH rocks. fun fun fun. =)

* I have heard of L-Tuned and asked my dealer today about it. He didn't have facts/figures on the Ltuned stuff for the 430. What is available for the car, and approx costs? I do NOT want body kits. I'd be interested in improved handling mainly. Or do the 17's pretty much handle pretty well.

* what is the deal with the L Tuned ECU? What is it and what does it do?

* Does L Tuned do any engine software or tranny software updates/mods too?

Again, like I said above.. I am probably going to get the 430 in a few weeks.. just trying to make sure I have everything covered.

Thanks everyone.
Pete