Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

KVR Brake Pads

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-02, 01:21 PM
MikeGS4PE
Lexus Test Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default KVR Brake Pads

I have been running KVR brake pads for the last six months, which is about 18,000 miles, and my rears are already worn out!!! Yes, I am pretty hard on my brakes, but when I replaced my stock pads at about 44,000 miles...they were only half-worn. I don't understand why they worn out this fast, but anyway...I just wanted to let you guys know about my bad experience with them. They did have better than stock stopping power, especially with the carbon fiber weave front pads, but horrible durability! Argh...Also, too much brake dust in the rear! Obviously, I need to change my pads once again or at least just the rears one, so do any of you guys have a suggestion as to what pad I should run that has the least amount of brake dust and remain quiet?
Old 08-23-02, 04:12 PM
JacobT

EBC Green Stuff. Several CL members switched to these pads and are happy with them. I've been thru 1 Toyota and 2 sets of TRD. After I switched to EBC, I'm happy now.
Old 08-23-02, 04:15 PM
MikeGS4PE
Lexus Test Driver

Thanks Jacob!...I was debating on whether or not to order some EBC before, but this time I think I will! Thanks!
Old 08-23-02, 06:23 PM
bitkahuna
Lexus Fanatic

Received 2,490 Likes on 1,635 Posts

Your REAR pads are already worn out? Maybe another problem since fronts do 80% of the work? Maybe park brake is stuck on (although I think that's a separate drum ??).
Old 08-23-02, 06:26 PM
LexFather

It took 77k miles for my rears to go on the stock brakes and I drive like a madman, that is really weird.

TRD pads are good IMO, but way to much brake dust.
Old 08-23-02, 08:02 PM
Vlad_Stein
Lead Lap

Default Re: KVR Brake Pads

Originally posted by MikeGS4PE