Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

2008 IS350 Front Brake Rotor and Pad Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-11, 02:33 PM
Kazabet
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2008 IS350 Front Brake Rotor and Pad Replacement

I just got back my 2008 IS350 from servicing today and they informed me that my front brake pads and rotors needed to be replaced. To quote them, it says:

"Front brake pads at 3mm - will not last till the next service. Will require front rotors and pads $750."

I was a bit shocked as this car only has 44,000 km on it and I'm a very easy going driver.

My question is, is this normal? It seems very early to need to replace the rotors. I asked about resurfacing and all the service manager said was, if it could have been resurfaced they would have suggested that.

I'm not sure if the price is normal, it seems high to me. Would you suggest going somewhere other than the dealer for this? Are there better aftermarket options I should consider? I'm not a performance driver, so I'm not looking for sporty parts, but I've heard of pads with less dust?

I'm not a handy person, so I have no faith in replacing these myself. Should I just suck it up and let them do it?

Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks!

Kaz

Last edited by Kazabet; 05-18-11 at 08:20 PM.
Old 05-18-11, 03:18 PM
BLexodus
Pole Position

Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts

44,000 mi or km is VERY early to have to replace the rotors. The pads might need to be changed soon and most brake shops only charge $100 or so per axel for pads.

If you are not confident you can change them yourself, then take it to a local mechanic or brake shop and get an estimate.

I priced out pads and rotors at AutoZone and the parts would only be $120 - $170 (fronts only) depending on the pads you get. Remeber though that this would be a less quality option than the Dealers lexus parts.
Old 05-18-11, 06:29 PM
oblivionis
Lead Lap