Suspension Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, etc.

diff between springs and coilovers

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-08, 08:03 PM
Bdiepp
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default diff between springs and coilovers

hey guys,

noob here, but i wanted to ask if i should get springs or coil over for my gs? And what is the difference? i heard if i just get springs something would blow.
Old 03-04-08, 08:34 PM
rominl
exclusive matchup

Received 190 Likes on 148 Posts

springs are just springs, you stay with stock shocks. stock shocks are designed for stock springs, which are higher. with the lowering springs, you constantly contracts the shocks, meaning you put them under more stress than they are designed for. so the shocks will blow earlier than they are expected

coilovers are aftermarket springs/shocks system from companies. they are designed together as a package, so the shocks and springs are much better designed, in terms of spring rates and dampening. the rebounce and the ride of coilovers are usually better controlled than just springs

of course, they cost more. but imho they are well worth it. i had springs on my acura, but after getting my first set of coilovers on my gs400, i have had coilovers ever since (except my ls460l on air).
Old 03-04-08, 08:38 PM
SiccMonkey
Driver

here is a quick crappy answer:

If you only replace the springs you will still be using your factory shocks, and since they were not designed for lowering springs they will have less piston travel and will be under a great deal more stress than usual, causing them to fail sooner. If you go with coilovers you would be replacing the entire shock/spring assembly, and since the shocks are designed to be used with the springs included with the coilovers you will get a better quality ride and the shocks will not be prone to premature failure....
Old 03-04-08, 09:24 PM
Bdiepp
Driver