Suspension Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, etc.

Coilover maintenance/ rebuild scedule 40-50 k miles ???!!!?!?!

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-08, 09:54 PM
I8ABMR
Lexus Fanatic

Received 102 Likes on 67 Posts
Default Coilover maintenance/ rebuild scedule 40-50 k miles ???!!!?!?!

I am going down to a local shop tommorow to order a set of tein cs coilovers with edfc. I am looking at about 2500 dollars for parts , install and alignment. I was just on a 2IS forum and saw a thread were members were stating that geberally coilovers need to be rebuilt every 40-50k miles? Is this true ? Has anyone heard the same thing? I dont want to spend that kind of money to be swapping out entire suspensions every 2 years for rebuilds of the coilovers. I am a professional not a mechanic. I dont have time for that crap. If that is truely the case I will stick with my stock shocks and very soft tein h techs. I am pretty sure I can get 100k out of that set up if not more before they need to go. I am going to call tein in the morning to verify.
Old 07-13-08, 11:05 PM
valgs350
Lexus Test Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have put about 15,000 miles on my Tein SS coilovers! They still run great!

I'll call Tein also, I have some questions, each Tein coilover rebuild thread on CL doesn't get post's.
Old 07-13-08, 11:10 PM
chrispy

Received 79 Likes on 37 Posts

Depends how you drive. I've heard reports of Tein coilovers lasting past 75k miles.
Old 07-14-08, 06:14 PM
I8ABMR
Lexus Fanatic