Suspension Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, etc.

Lowering your ride

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-10, 02:00 PM
charje
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lowering your ride

Just a few questions, I am a newbie here so dont flame me, I always wondered why you would want to lower your car. I like the look of a lowered car, especially with a nice set of rims, but are there any other benifits to slamming your car? So can yall tell me your reasoning for lowering your ride? does it make the handling/performance better, is it a car that you could drive daily? can you drive long highway miles?

Since I bought my car my driving habits have change, I dont have to crush anybody at light, or hit turns on 2 wheels. I like the luxury feel, and smoothness of the ride. It just seems to me when your car is lowered, it will take away the way your car was design to drive.

Thanks for the input
Old 01-07-10, 02:02 PM
Yang1815
Lexus Champion

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

How does it take away the way your car was designed to drive?
Old 01-07-10, 02:09 PM
BinaryJay
Pole Position

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

It's going to be a bumpier, stiffer ride, shorter springs need to be stiffer. Less travel in the suspension, need to be more careful with road obstacles, pot holes and inclines. AWD GS gets vibrations from the suspension angles. More risk of faster/more uneven tire wear and general suspension wear... there's a long list of negatives.

Lower center of gravity may contribute to better turning behavior but for the most part it's probably placebo... the only real reason to lower is for looks. For some people, the looks outweigh the negatives and for some people not.