Suspension Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, etc.

Clearance after lowering

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-21, 08:47 PM
LOIdbanks
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Clearance after lowering

Yo, what up guys. So this is my first time lowering my GS this low. Usually it's more practical for a daily, but since I daily my 4runner now, I can actually have a bit of fun with this car. So the setup first:
BC Racing Coilovers; I believe the spring rates are 12k front and 10k rear. With max dampener stiffness all around.
Front upper SPC camber ball joint
Wheel and tire size are:
Front - 19x10 +35 on 2353519 (+25mm spacer)
Rear - 19x11 +25 on 2553519

After lowering it, I noticed the front wheel is about 1/2 inch away from hitting the frame/bracket behind the headlights. I'm curious on how a lot of you guys are a lot lower and this doesn't seem to be an issue. Maybe I'm just being paranoid and thinking it will hit. I would rather be on the safe side. Or can someone tell me how much space I should leave for travel room so it doesn't hit anything. I took some pictures to show what I am talking about. Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

The following users liked this post:
petershen (10-04-21)
Old 10-04-21, 05:22 PM
petershen
Pit Crew

Received 66 Likes on 41 Posts

Very nice setup! Are you hitting the fender over humps? If you're not I wouldn't worry about it

I'm not lowered much, but I run much fatter tyres, so I had to take a heat gun to the fender liners, shave the rear fenders and roll the fronts, and I still rub slightly on full lock. I do have slightly more clearance to the front fender compared to your setup.
The following users liked this post:
LOIdbanks (10-15-21)
Old 10-15-21, 07:33 PM
LOIdbanks
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts