VIP Style Discuss Lexus VIP and Lexus VIP Styled cars.

more questions.... sorry

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-12, 07:32 PM
ANGELxEYEZ
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default more questions.... sorry

ok, im new to the whole "vip" styling of cars. i come from more of a "lowrider" upbringing. you know, 60's impalas, 13 or 14 inch wire wheels, hittin the hydraulic switches, etc etc.... anyways, i love the look of most, if not all the ls400's on here, however, im confused on a few things. so, ill just get right to it......

1. WIDE TIRES-- i notice and have been told that getting the widest stance on rims n tires, without pertruding past the fender is key. true?? and if i decided to just run 18x8.5 or 19x8.5, slammed real low, no spacers, is it still considered "vip" since im not flush with the fender?? jus curious.

2. WHEEL ANGLE-- in my upbringing around lowriders, once a vehicle is juiced {hydraulics} the front wheels tend to "butterfly" or "reverse butterfly". its definitely not something we aim to achieve. we actually will cut n extend our upper n lower a-arms to at least alleviate it at most heights. i believe in this styling of cars you guys call it "camber". am i mistaken or is this a desired look for vip styling??? if so, why?? and isnt it harsh on bearings and tires??

3. STRETCHED TIRES-- it seems that alot or most run tires that arent exactly the proper width for the rims. is this strictly a visual desire, or is there a technical reason for it??

4. FENDER WORK-- is this kind of "jerry-rigging" with a baseball bat or cookie dough roller?? or will most body shops know how to do this?? why not jus run a wheel thats an inch thinner?? or does even the slightest bit matter that much??