Wheels, Tires & Brakes Forum Where else do you go for wheel, tire and brake information?

Newb Entering High-end Area: Wheels

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-04, 05:25 AM
tonytony
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newb Entering High-end Area: Wheels

Hi SC owners

I'm a newbie to the boards and been posting on the ES board mainly. Though I drop by the highend area for a bit since I have a few questions. Since I been lurking around here a bit, I know a lot of SC owners have purchased new wheels for their rides. I was wondering what people do with their own set? Do you keep them around or sell them? Do you keep one for a spare? Oh...are the stock wheels come staggered? or is that just something everbody does aftermarket?

I've been thinking about purchasing a set for my ES and wondering what pricetag people have been selling/buying them for. I was on Ebay looking through and noticed a set of wheels + tires for 900, but then another set for 2000, the difference being chrome. Does it make that much of a difference?

Finally, the "dinnerplate" covers. Why do a lot of SC owners not like them? Is it hard to maintain/clean?

Thanks for checking this out, I've always liked the curves of the SC..but I have to say I'm not a sports car kind of guy, and if given a chance would jump up to the LS =)
Old 02-22-04, 06:35 AM
Gojirra99
Super Moderator

Received 218 Likes on 146 Posts

The stock wheels on the SC430 are not staggered.

I' ve kept the original runflats and pieplates in my garage after I got my aftermarket wheels. I plan to put them back on the car when I trade it in the future.That's what some dealers prefer when they get a trade in. Some people have sold the stock wheels thru the internet.

Personally, I don't like the pieplates because I think they look dopey on the SC430. It has nothing to do with the ease of maintainence.